Tampa Mayor Jane Castor wins second term

ABOVE: Tampa Mayor Jane Castor (R) and partner Ana Cruz at Pride on the River 2021. Photo via Castor’s Facebook.

TAMPA | Tampa Mayor Jane Castor won a second term March 7 in the city’s 2023 municipal election, receiving 80.14% of the vote according to unofficial results.

Castor made history with her 2019 election, becoming Tampa’s 59th and first openly LGBTQ mayor. She launched her re-election campaign last November and faced only Belinda Noah, who qualified as a write-in candidate and received 19.86% of the vote.

The mayor’s second-term priorities include increasing access to affordable housing, enhancing workforce development and improving infrastructure and mobility. Continuing her “aggressive agenda to lift up local neighborhoods and improve the quality of life for everyone” in the city, her campaign said, she will seek to “make government more accessible and ensure a more resilient and sustainable Tampa.”

“Other than raising my two boys, serving as your Mayor has been the greatest honor of my life,” Castor shared after the results. “Thank you, Tampa. For four more years of Transforming Tampa’s Tomorrow.

“Together, we’ll continue lifting up every neighborhood and improving the quality of life for every resident,” she added.

Castor’s re-election was endorsed by leading LGBTQ organizations around the nation. Supporters included the LGBTQ Victory Fund, LPAC and Equality Florida Action PAC, the political arm of the state’s largest LGBTQ civil rights organization.

“Congratulations to Equality Florida Action PAC endorsed candidate Jane Castor for Mayor of Tampa on her re-election!” the organization shared via social media March 7.

“Four years ago we made history together when we came together as a community and elected Jane to be the first openly LGBTQ Mayor Tampa has ever had,” they continued. “We are just as proud tonight as we re-elect Jane Castor and keep her at Tampa’s helm to continue fighting for our families and LGBTQ equality.”

In addition to Castor’s race, two candidates for Tampa City Council won their races according to election night returns. Bill Carlson retained his District 4 seat while challenger Gwen Henderson narrowly beat Orlando Gudes in District 5.

As no City Council candidates reached the 50%+ vote threshold in Districts 1-3 or 6, the top two candidates from each race will advance to Tampa’s runoff election April 25. Sonja Brookins will face Alan Clendenin in District 1, Guido Maniscalco and Robin Locket will face off in District 2, Lynn Hurtak and Janet Cruz in District 3 and Charlie Miranda will face Hoyt Prindle in District 6.

For more information about the 2023 elections, visit VoteHillsborough.gov.

More in News

See More